Home / Asia / India / Asia Cup Final: Steady Sri Lankans take it away by 5 wickets

Asia Cup Final: Steady Sri Lankans take it away by 5 wickets

DHAKA -AFP:In a slow-but-steady run chase, Sri Lanka beat Pakistan by 5 wickets in much anticipated final to lift Asia Cup trophy at Shere Bangla stadium on Saturday.

Sri Lanka chased down a challenging 261-run target in 46.2 overs with opener Lahiru Thirimanne notching a brilliant 101.
Defending champions Pakistan had posted a tough 260-5 with Fawad Alam hitting a maiden hundred with 114 not out.
This is Sri Lanka s fifth Asia Cup title, equalling India s number of triumphs in the event initiated in 1984.
Pakistan had set a total of 261-run target with the loss of 5 wickets for opponent Sri Lanka in Asia Cup final that has the nation hooked on to their televisions.
Fawad scored a smashing 114 for 134 balls while Umar Akmal scored 59 for 42 balls before getting out 3 balls short from the final over.
Earlier, Pakistani captain Misbahul Haq smashed a brisk half-century in the final of the Asia Cup against while Sri Lanka claimed crucial top order wickets in Dhaka on Saturday.
Pakistan won the toss and opted to bat in the final of the Asia Cup against Sri Lanka in Dhaka on Saturday.
Pakistan, defending the title, made two changes as left-arm spinner Abdur Rehman and batsman Sohaib Maqsood were left out. In comes opener Sharjeel Khan and paceman Junaid Khan.
Pakistan had fitness worries over Afridi (hip) and Ahmed Shehzad (shoulder) but both passed fitness test ahead of the match.
Sri Lanka left out spinner Ajantha Mendis who made way for paceman Lasith Malinga.
Sri Lanka have an impressive record of winning the title four times and have been runners-up on six occasions. They won all the four matches in this tournament.
Pakistan: Misbah-ul Haq (captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Sharjeel Khan, Fawad Alam, Shahid Afridi, Umar Akmal, Junaid Khan, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Talha.
Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (capt), Kusal Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Ashan Priyanjan, Lasith Malinga, Sachithra Senanayake, Chaturanga de Silva, Suranga Lakmal.

Check Also

N. Korea preps nuclear site demolition despite US summit doubts

SEOUL (AFP) – Invited foreign journalists gathered in North Korea Wednesday to witness the slated …

Trump-Kim summit in play as Moon visits White House

WASHINGTON (AFP) – Donald Trump holds a high-stakes meeting with South Korea’s president at the …

%d bloggers like this: