Home / Breaking News / Senate elections 2018: PML-N gets 15, PPP 12,PTI 6 in elections on 52 Senate seats

Senate elections 2018: PML-N gets 15, PPP 12,PTI 6 in elections on 52 Senate seats

ISLAMABAD -UNS-  Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) backed independent candidates have so far won 15 ,PPP 12,PTI 7 Senate seats across the country according to unofficial results, with the result of four seats from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa remaining.

According to the unofficial results, PML-N-backed independent candidates secured 15 of 12 seats from the Punjab Assembly and also bagged another 5 seats from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP).

Independent candidate Mushahid Hussain Syed secured 223 votes for Senate’s technocrat seat from the federal capital against Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) candidate Raja Shakeel, who bagged 68 votes from the members of National Assembly.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had declared the PML-N Senate candidates as independent in the aftermath of the Supreme Court of Pakistan’s ruling over the petitions challenging the Election Act 2017, which removed former prime minister Nawaz Sharif as the party president.

Another independent candidate Asad Junejo, having backing of PML-N, won the second seat for Islamabad after receiving 214 votes against 32 votes to Imran Ashraf and Kanwal Shozab respectively, according to the reports.

FATA Ittehad have secured all four seats of the tribal region in the Senate polls, unofficial results said.

The winning candidates were Mirza Muhammad Afridi, Hidayatullah, Shamim Afridi and Hilal-ur-Rehman.

The victorious candidates received seven votes each.

PML-N backed independent candidates won 11 out of 12 seats from Punjab while PTI’s Chaudhry Sarwar managed to secure a single seat.

Former finance minister Ishaq Dar and Hafiz Abdul Kareem won technocrat seats.

Meanwhile in Sindh, 10 candidates of Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) were elected to the Parliament’s Upper House, according to the unofficial results.

The victorious candidates are incumbent Senate Chairman Raza Rabbani, Moula Bux Chandio, Mustafa Nawaz Khokhar and Anwar Lal Dean.

Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) factions could only manage to win a single seat despite a last minute reconciliation between rival factions led by Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui and Farooq Sattar as Farogh Nasim won on a general seat.

Out of the 12 total seats, 10 went to the ruling PPP while Pakistan Muslim League-Functional (PML-F) candidate Muzaffar Shah and MQM-P’s Farogh Nasim won the two other seats.


In Balochistan, mostly independent candidates have won on eleven Senate seats. They are Anwar-ul- Haq Kakar, Ahmed Khan, Sadiq Sanjri , Kauda Babar Askani and Sardar Shafiq Tareen. Muhammad Akram of National Party and Molvi Faiz Muhammad of JUI (F) have also been declared as successful candidates. Similarly, Tahir Bizenjo has won the election from the platform of National Party while Naseebullah Bazai has won the election in independent capacity.

Likewise, Sana Jamali won her seat in an independent capacity while another woman candidate Abida Muhammad Azeem of Pakhtoon Kuwa Milli Awami Party has also been elected for the senate.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf won three seats.

The winners include Faisal Javed on General, Mehr Taj Roghani on Women and Azam Swati on Technocrat seats.

PPP won two seats with Bahramand Tangi on General and Robina Khalid on women seats.

Similarly, Independent candidates Pir Sabir Shah succeeded on General while Dilawar Khan on technocrat seats.

Talha Mehmood of JUI(F) also won on General seat. Counting of three remaining Senate General seats is in progress.

Polling for the 52 seats in Senate concluded in the national and provincial assemblies at 4pm on Saturday.

Elections to the Senate were held in accordance with Article 59 of the Constitution. Each provincial assembly elects 23 members respectively. These include 14 general, four technocrat, four women and two non-Muslim seats. Four – two general, one technocrat and one woman are elected from Islamabad Capital Territory (ICT). Eight members are elected from the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA).

Check Also

PM House vehicles auctioned: 70 cars auction above market price: Information Minister

ISLAMABAD -UNS- Seventy vehicles of the Prime Minister House have been auctioned above the market …

Repatriation of illicit finances, recovery of stolen assets: Pak-UK sign accord to stop money laundering

BY IFTIKHAR MASHWANI ISLAMABAD – The governments of Pakistan and the United Kingdom on Monday …

%d bloggers like this: