Home / Breaking News / 52 Newly-elected Senators take oath

52 Newly-elected Senators take oath

ISLAMABAD -UNS – As many as 52 newly-elected Senators have taken oath during a session in the Upper House today (Monday).

Senator Sardar Yaqoob Khan Nasir, who was nominated by the president Mamnoon Hussain to chair the session administered oath to the new members.

Names of Senators who sworn in

Those newly elected Senators who took the oath included Hafiz Abdul Kareem, Ms. Abida Muhammad Azeem, Ahmed Khan, Anwer Lal Dean, Anwar ul Haq Kakar, Dr. Asif Kirmani, Behara Mand, Dilawar Khan, Faisal javed, Fida Muhammad, Maulvi Faiz Muhammad, Haroon Akhter Khan, Hidayat Ullah, Hilal-ur-Rehman, Imam Uddin Shoqeen, Kamran Micheal, Khuda Babar, Kisho Bai, Rana Mehmud ul Hassan, Rana Maqbool Ahmed, Mehar Taj Rooghani, Mirza Muhammad Afridi, Ch. Muhammad Sarwar, Maula Bux Chandio, Muhammad Akram, Syed Muhammad Ali Shah Jamot, Muhammad Asad Ali Khan Junejo, Muhammad Ayub, Muhammad Azam Khan Swati, Faroogh Naseem, Syed Muhammad Sabir Shah, Sadiq Sinjrani, Sardar Muhammad Shafique Tareen, Tahir Bizenjo, Talha Mehmood, Musadiq Masood Malik, Mushahid Hussain Syed, Mushtaq Ahmed, Mustafa Nawaz Khokhar, Muzaffar Hussain Shah, Naseeb Ullah Bazai, Nuzhat Sadiq, Qurat ul Ain Mari, Mian Raza Rabbani, Rubina Khalid, Rukhsana Zubairi, Saadia Abbasi, Sana Jamali, Shaheen Khalid Butt, Shamim Afridi and Dr. Sikandar Mindhro.

The newly elected Senator Ishaq Dar could not take oath due to his stay in London. Dr. Asad Ashraf took oath on Nehal Hashmi’s vacant seat.

Senate Chairman, Deputy Chairman elections

As per schedule, the session has been adjourned afterwards while it will be resumed at 4:00 pm for the elections of Chairman and Deputy Chairman of Senate. The polling would be held via secret ballot.

Following the election, the Senate chairman will take oath, and will then swear in his deputy.

Earlier on March 3, the ruling Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) won 15 seats to establish dominance in the Senate despite Pakistan Peoples’ Party’s (PPP) surprising performance on 52-seat contest.

In the elections held for 52 seats in the Upper House, the PML-N and allies took their Senate tally to 46, becoming the largest party in Senate too. PML-N won 11 seats from Punjab and two each from Islamabad and KPK. PPP, winning 10 seats from Sindh and 2 from KPK, managed12 seats. PTI bagged 5 seats from KPK and one from Punjab.

Two candidates of the Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-F, Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party and National Party each, one candidate from each of the MQM, Jamaat-i-Islami and PML-F returned successful on the 52 of the 104 Senate seats. In addition, 12 of the seats went to the independent candidates.

Check Also

PM House vehicles auctioned: 70 cars auction above market price: Information Minister

ISLAMABAD -UNS- Seventy vehicles of the Prime Minister House have been auctioned above the market …

Repatriation of illicit finances, recovery of stolen assets: Pak-UK sign accord to stop money laundering

BY IFTIKHAR MASHWANI ISLAMABAD – The governments of Pakistan and the United Kingdom on Monday …

%d bloggers like this: